Liverpool Win Record Breaking Ninth Carabao Cup

My Football FactsArticles

By Martin Graham | 28th Feb 2022

Liverpool have ended their one season trophy drought to clinch the first of the domestic titles on offer in English football this season, the Carabao Cup, for a record-breaking ninth time in their history.

The tense 120 minute match saw a lot of action of the highest quality but it came down to the wire in penalties where Chelsea substitute goalkeeper Kepa Arrizabalaga missed to hand Liverpool the title.

Liverpool second-choice goalkeeper, youngster Caoimhin Kelleher and captain Jordan Henderson came into the line-up as Klopp made only two changes to the team that beat Leeds United 6-0 in the Premier League last Wednesday.

However, midfielder Thiago Alcantara picked up an injury during the warm up, forcing him to be substituted for Guinean Naby Keita before he even had a chance to kick the ball.

As the game progressed, Chelsea, playing in their fourth final since Thomas Tuchel took over just over a year ago, had the upper hand.

Kelleher and the rest of the Liverpool defence were tested but gave good accounts of themselves throughout the first half. As the game settled, it also took some great defending and goalkeeper from Chelsea to deny Liverpool an opening goal.

Chelsea again took charge as the second half began, with Mason Mount hitting the post in the earlier stages. Liverpool also grew into the match and it was a similar case to the first half, with fine attacking, midfield, defensive and goalkeeping displays being the order of the day.

Liverpool defender Joel Matip scored but the goal was ruled offside as his centre back partner Virgil Van Dijk was adjudged by the VAT to have been offside in the buildup to the goal.

The game went to extra time which was even tighter as both teams became wary of errors that could see them miss out on the silverware.

Like Matip In the second half, Chelsea striker Romelu Lukaku was adjudged to have been offside after putting the ball beyond Kelleher in the 98th minute.

The ensuing penalty shootout was nothing short of phenomenal, as all the outfield players scored beautiful penalties. Then it went down to the wire and substitute goalkeeper Kepa skied his own kick to give Liverpool the title for the ninth time in their history.

The win was also The Reds first win in a decade in the competition after wins in 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1995, 2001, 2003 and 2012.

They beat Manchester City to the ninth title to set the new record and to hand Jürgen Klopp his fifth ever title in his managerial career, all which have come as Liverpool coach.

Adding this winnto the most recent Premier League, Champions League, FIFA Club World Cup and UEFA Super Cup titles, Liverpool have now officially won 49 major trophies in their history and are among England’s most successful.

Martin Graham is an MFF sports writer

Back To Top