Asian Football

The AFC Asian Cup is a football tournament run by the Asian Football Confederation (AFC). The winning team becomes the champion of Asia and automatically qualifies for the FIFA Confederations Cup.

The AFC Asian Cup is a football tournament run by the Asian Football Confederation (AFC). The winning team becomes the champion of Asia and automatically qualifies for the FIFA Confederations Cup. The Asian Cup had been held once every four years from 1956 until 2004. However, since the Summer Olympic Games and the European Football Championship were also scheduled in the same year as the Asian Cup, the AFC decided to move their championship to a less crowded cycle. After 2004, the tournament was held in 2007, and will be held every four years henceforth from then.
The Asian Cup has been dominated by the top teams in Asia over the years, typically from East Asia or West Asia. Teams such as South Korea, Iran, Japan, and Saudi Arabia have earned a spot for themselves in the final matches almost every year. Israel, who were successful in the early competitions, now compete in Europe.

Asia Football
AFC Asia Cup Championships 1956-2019
AFC Football
AFC Asian Cup Order of Merit 1956-2019
AFC Asian Cup Champions 1956-2019
AFC Asian Cup Top Goalscorers

 AFC Regional tournaments

  • Southeast Asia: ASEAN Football Championship (formerly known as the Tiger Cup prior to 2007 and AFF Suzuki Cup since 2008).
  • Central Asia: Officially only 4 countries in this region, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan
  • (Kazakhstan left for UEFA). No official tournament held between countries in this region.
  • South Asia: SAFF Championship.
  • East Asia: East Asian Football Championship.
  • West Asia: West Asian Football Federation Championship (Although not all West Asian Countries enter).
  • Gulf Cup of Nations.
AFC Asean Asian Football
ASEAN Southeast Asia Football Championship
SAAF South Asia Championship
South Asia SAFF Football Championship
EAFF Football
AFC Dynasty Cup & EAFF East Asia Cup
West Asia WAFF Championship
AFC Gulf
AFC Gulf Cup of Nations Football Championships


Men’s Association football has been an Asian Games sport since the 1951 edition.
Since 2002 Asian Games, the age limit for men teams is under-23, which is the same age limit for football competitions at the Summer Olympic Games, while three over-aged players are allowed among each squad.
The 2010 Asian Games are being held in Guangzhou, China from 7th to 25th November with a total of  24 teams competing in six groups of four.
AFC Champions League Finals 1967-2019
Asian Games 1951-2018 Medals Tables
Asian Games 2010 Competition
Asian Games Order of Merit
Barclays Asia Trophy 2013-2017
FIFA World Cup 2014 Asia Qualification
The competition started as the Asian Champion Club Tournament back in 1967. Eight domestic champions from eight Asian leagues competed in the inaugural season.
Using the old European Cup as a model, the tournament returned to Asia during the 1985/86 season with a new name, the Asian Club Championship. From 2002/03 season the Asian Champions Cup, Asian Cup Winners Cup, and Asian Super Cup was merged into one larger competition: the AFC Champions League.
Three English Premier League clubs compete against a local Asian team in this pre-season competition first staged in 2003 and held every two years thereafter. Chelsea won the 2011 competition, beating Aston Villa and Kitchee.
As in recent tournaments, the AFC will have four direct qualifiers for the finals tournament in addition to a further possible place via the intercontinental play-offs against CONMEBOL’s fifth-placed team.

Click here –> for Asian Football on Original MyFootballFacts Website.


Online Betting Site Betway
Question of the Day: How many of the 20 Nations Qualified for the UEFA Euro 2020 Finals have an Animal on their Crest?Find out
+ +
Back To Top