Football in South Africa

South Africa Premier Division Football Champions

HomeWorld FootballWorld Football Leagues

South African Premier Division – Absa Premiership – Winners from season 1996-97 to season 2021-22.
The 2022-23 South African Premier Division season runs from 5th August 2022 to 20th May 2023
Before 1996, Football in South Africa was organised on a racial basis.

South Africa Premier Division Football Champions by Year

YearSouth Africa Champions
1997Manning Rangers
1998Mamelodi Sundowns
1999Mamelodi Sundowns
2000Mamelodi Sundowns
2001Orlando Pirates
2003Orlando Pirates
2004Kaizer Chiefs
2005Kaizer Chiefs
2006Mamelodi Sundowns
2007Mamelodi Sundowns
2008Supersport United
2009Supersport United
2010Supersport United
2011Orlando Pirates
2012Orlando Pirates
2013Kaizer Chiefs
2014Mamelodi Sundowns
2015Kaizer Chiefs
2016Mamelodi Sundowns
2017Bidvest Wits
2018Mamelodi Sundowns
2019Mamelodi Sundowns
2020Mamelodi Sundowns
2021Mamelodi Sundowns
2022Mamelodi Sundowns

South Africa Premier Division Football League Champion Clubs Number of Wins

South African Champions (7 Clubs)
12Mamelodi Sundowns
4Orlando Pirates
4Kaizer Chiefs
3Supersport United
1Manning Rangers
1Bidvest Wits
26Total Champions
Racial Leagues from 1959-1995
DSTV Premiership 2021-22 (Pts)
65Mamelodi Sundowns (C)
49Cape Town City
47Royal AM
47Kaizer Chiefs
44Orlando Pirates
40SuperSport United
40Lamontville Golden Arrows
34Marumo Gallants
33Sekhukhune United
31Maritzburg United
30TS Galaxy
29Chippa United
26Moroka Swallows
25Baroka (R)

 World Football Leagues

Back To Top