WATNEY CUP 1970 to 1973

Home   ⇒   England Football   ⇒  England Domestic

The Watney Cup was one of the first sponsored competitions in England. It took place for four seasons from 1970 to 1973 and was played before the regular League season started.
Two teams from each of the four Football League Divisions participated and qualification was based on the highest number of goals scored during the previous League season, providing that the teams weren’t involved in European Football or promoted. A novel feature was that there were no replays – extra time was played and then a penalty shoot-out, if needed.
The Final was a one-leg game, played at the home venue of one of the Finalists.
The Watney Cup was the first football competition to be screened live on television.

WATNEY CUP 1970 to 1973
Division One Division Two Division Three Division Four
Derby County Hull City Fulham Aldershot
Manchester United Sheffield United Reading Peterborough United
First Round (1st August 1970)
Aldershot 0-6 Sheffield United
Fulham 3-5 (aet) Derby County
Peterborough United 0-4 Hull City
Reading 2-3 Manchester United
Semi-Finals (5th August 1970)
Derby County 1-0 Sheffield United
Hull City 1-1 (aet) Manchester United (won on penalties)
Final (8th August 1970)
Derby County 4-1 Manchester United (Baseball Ground)
Division One Division Two Division Three Division Four
Manchester United Carlisle United Halifax Town Colchester United
West Bromwich Albion Luton Town Wrexham Crewe Alexandra
First Round (31st July 1971)
Colchester United 1-0 Luton Town
Crewe Alexandra 1-3 Carlisle United
Halifax Town 2-1 Manchester United
Wrexham 1-2 West Bromwich Albion
Semi-Finals (4th August 1971)
Colchester United 2-0 Carlisle United
Halifax Town 0-2 West Bromwich Albion
Final (7th August 1971)
Colchester United 4-4 (pens 4-3) West Bromwich Albion (The Hawthorns)
Division One Division Two Division Three Division Four
Sheffield United Blackpool Bristol Rovers Lincoln City
Wolverhampton Wand Burnley Notts County Peterborough United
First Round (29th July 1972)
Bristol Rovers 2-0 Wolverhampton Wanderers
Lincoln City 0-1 Burnley
Notts County 0-3 Sheffield United
Peterborough United (won on penalties) 0-0 (aet) Blackpool
Semi-Finals (2nd August 1972)
Burnley 0-2 Bristol Rovers
Peterborough United 0-4 Sheffield United
Final (5th August 1972)
Bristol Rovers 0-0 (pens 7-6) Sheffield United (Eastville Stadium)
Division One Division Two Division Three Division Four
Stoke City Bristol City Bristol Rovers Mansfield Town
West Ham United Hull City Plymouth Argyle Peterborough United
First Round (11th August 1973)
Bristol Rovers (won on penalties) 0-0 (aet) West Ham United
Mansfield Town 0-3 Hull City
Peterborough United 1-2 Bristol City
Plymouth Argyle 0-1 Stoke City
Semi-Finals (14th August 1973)
Bristol Rovers 0-1 Hull City
Stoke City 4-1 Bristol City
Final (18th August 1973)
Stoke City 2-0 Hull City (Victoria Ground)


Top Flight Highest Goalscorers        |        Most Expensive Transfers in World Football

Back To Top