BBC Goal of the Season 1970-71 to 2020-21

Home  England Football  England Domestic

The Goal of the Season is an annual competition and award given on BBC’s Match of the Day, in honour of the most spectacular goal scored that season. It is typically contested between the winners of the preceding ten Goals of the Month, although the goal can and has come from any game in the regular season, including international qualifiers and friendlies.
See Video of BBC Goal of the Season 1970-71 to 2019-20 Heung-min Son’s goal for Tottenham Hotspur against Burnley in December 2019

Season Scorer Nationality For Against Stadium Competition Date
1970–71 Ernie Hunt England Coventry City Everton Highfield Road First Division 3-Oct-70
1971–72 Ronnie Radford England Hereford United Newcastle United Edgar Street FA Cup 5-Feb-72
1972–73 Peter Osgood England Chelsea Arsenal Stamford Bridge FA Cup 17-Mar-73
1973–74 Alan Mullery England Fulham Leicester City Craven Cottage FA Cup 26-Jan-74
1974–75 Mickey Walsh Ireland Blackpool Sunderland Bloomfield Road Second Division 1-Feb-75
1975–76 Gerry Francis England Queens Park Rangers Liverpool Loftus Road First Division 16-Aug-75
1976–77 Terry McDermott England Liverpool Everton Maine Road FA Cup 23-Apr-77
1977–78 Archie Gemmill Scotland Nottingham Forest Arsenal City Ground First Division 21-Jan-78
1978–79 Ray Kennedy England Liverpool Derby County Baseball Ground First Division 24-Feb-79
1979–80 Justin Fashanu England Norwich City Liverpool Carrow Road First Division 9-Feb-80
1980–81 Tony Morley England Aston Villa Everton Goodison Park First Division 7-Feb-81
1981–82 Cyrille Regis England West Bromwich Albion Norwich City The Hawthorns FA Cup 13-Feb-82
1982–83 Kenny Dalglish Scotland Scotland Belgium Heysel Stadium, Brussels Euro 1984 qualifying 15-Dec-82
1983–84 Danny Wallace England Southampton Liverpool The Dell First Division 16-Mar-84
1984–85 Graeme Sharp England Everton Liverpool Anfield First Division 20-Oct-84
1985–86 Bryan Robson England England Israel National Stadium,Ramat Gan Friendly 26-Feb-86
1986–87 Keith Houchen England Coventry City Tottenham Hotspur Wembley Stadium FA Cup 16-May-87
1987–88 John Aldridge Ireland Liverpool Nottingham Forest Hillsborough FA Cup 9-Apr-88
1988–89 John Aldridge Ireland Liverpool Everton Wembley Stadium FA Cup 20-May-89
1989–90 Ian Wright England Crystal Palace Manchester United Wembley Stadium FA Cup 12-May-90
1990–91 Paul Gascoigne England Tottenham Hotspur Arsenal Wembley Stadium FA Cup 14-Apr-91
1991–92 Mickey Thomas Wales Wrexham Arsenal Racecourse Ground FA Cup 4-Jan-92
1992–93 Dalian Atkinson England Aston Villa Wimbledon Selhurst Park Premier League 3-Oct-92
1993–94 Rod Wallace England Leeds United Tottenham Hotspur Elland Road Premier League 17-Apr-94
1994–95 Matthew Le Tissier England Southampton Blackburn Rovers Ewood Park Premier League 10-Dec-94
1995–96 Tony Yeboah Ghana Leeds United Wimbledon Selhurst Park Premier League 23-Sep-95
1996–97 Trevor Sinclair England Queens Park Rangers Barnsley Loftus Road FA Cup 25-Jan-97
1997–98 Dennis Bergkamp Netherlands Arsenal Leicester City Filbert Street Premier League 27-Aug-97
1998–99 Ryan Giggs Wales Manchester United Arsenal Villa Park FA Cup 14-Apr-99
1999–2000 Paolo Di Canio Italy West Ham United Wimbledon Upton Park Premier League 26-Mar-00
2000–01 Shaun Bartlett South Africa Charlton Athletic Leicester City The Valley Premier League 1-Apr-01
2001–02 Dennis Bergkamp Netherlands Arsenal Newcastle United St James' Park Premier League 2-Mar-02
2002–03 Thierry Henry France Arsenal Tottenham Hotspur Highbury Premier League 16-Nov-02
2003–04 Dietmar Hamann Germany Liverpool Portsmouth Anfield Premier League 17-Mar-04
2004–05 Wayne Rooney England Manchester United Middlesbrough Old Trafford FA Cup 29-Jan-05
2005–06 Steven Gerrard England Liverpool West Ham United Millennium Stadium FA Cup 13-May-06
2006–07 Wayne Rooney England Manchester United Bolton Wanderers Old Trafford Premier League 17-Mar-07
2007–08 Emmanuel Adebayor Togo Arsenal Tottenham Hotspur White Hart Lane Premier League 15-Sep-07
2008–09 Glen Johnson England Portsmouth Hull City Fratton Park Premier League 22-Nov-08
2009–10 Maynor Figueroa Honduras Wigan Athletic Stoke City Britannia Stadium Premier League 12-Dec-09
2010–11 Wayne Rooney England Manchester United Manchester City Old Trafford Premier League 12-Feb-11
2011–12 Papiss Cisse Senegal Newcastle United Chelsea Stamford Bridge Premier League 2-May-12
2012–13 Robin van Persie Netherlands Manchester United Aston Villa Old Trafford Premier League 22-Apr-13
2013–14 Jack Wilshere England Arsenal Norwich City Emirates Stadium Premier League 19-Oct-13
2014–15 Jack Wilshere England Arsenal West Bromwich Albion Emirates Stadium Premier League 24-May-15
2015–16 Dele Alli England Tottenham Hotspur Crystal Palace Selhurst Park Premier League 23-Jan-16
2016–17 Emre Can Germany Liverpool Watford Vicarage Road Premier League 1-May-17
2017–18 Jamie Vardy  England Leicester City West Bromwich Albion The Hawthorns Premier League 10-Mar-18
2018–19 Vincent Kompany Belgium Manchester City Leicester City Etihad Stadium Premier League 6-May-19
2019–20 Heung-min Son South Korea Tottenham Hotspur Burnley New Spurs Stadium Premier League 7-Dec-19
2020–21 Erik Lamela Argentina Tottenham Hotspur Arsenal Emirates Stadium Premier League 14-Mar-21


Video of BBC Goal of the Season 2018-19: Vincent Kompany’s goal for Man City against Leicester in May 2019

Top Flight Highest Goalscorers

Back To Top