World Cup Golden Ball Winners

FIFA World Cup Finals Tournaments 1930 to 2022 Golden Ball

My Football FactsFIFA CompetitionsFIFA All Time World Cup

The Golden Ball award is presented to the best player at each FIFA World Cup finals, with a shortlist drawn up by the FIFA technical committee and the winner voted for by representatives of the media. Those who finish as runners-up in the vote receive the Silver Ball and Bronze Ball awards as the second and third most outstanding players in the tournament respectively.


Year Golden Ball Winner Country
1930 José Nasazzi Uruguay
1934 Giuseppe Meazza Italy
1938 Leônidas Brazil
1950 Zizinho Brazil
1954 Ferenc Puskás Hungary
1958 Didi Brazil
1962 Garrincha Brazil
1966 Bobby Charlton England
1970 Pelé Brazil
1974 Johan Cruyff Netherlands
1978 Mario Kempes Argentina
1982 Paolo Rossi Italy
1986 Diego Maradona Argentina
1990 Salvatore Schillaci Italy
1994 Romário Brazil
1998 Ronaldo Brazil
2002 Oliver Kahn Germany
2006 Zinedine Zidane France
2010 Diego Forlán Uruguay
2014 Lionel Messi Argentina
2018 Luka Modric Croatia
2022 Lionel Messi Argentina

Premier League Top Scorers