Texaco Cup

Home   ⇒   England Football   ⇒  England Domestic

TEXACO CUP 1970 to 1975

The Texaco Cup was a competition involving football clubs from England, Northern Ireland, Ireland and Scotland that had not qualified for the three major UEFA European competitions – The European Cup, the European Cup Winners’ Cup and the UEFA Cup. Irish clubs withdrew from the competition after 1971-72 due to political pressure and in 1973-74 and 1974-75 competed in a separate Texaco (All-Ireland) Cup.
The American petroleum giant Texaco sponsored the tournament to the tune of £100,000 a season.
In the first two season sixteen clubs (six from England, six from Scotland and four from Ireland) entered, and following the withdrawal of the Irish teams this changed to nine English and seven Scottish sides.
For the final season of the competition, 16 English clubs (including a number of Second Division sides, and the Third and Fourth Division champions) played in groups before being joined in the knockout stages by four Scottish sides.

TEXACO CUP 1970-71 to 1974-75
England Scotland N Ireland Ireland
Burnley Airdrieonians Ards Limerick
Nottingham Forest Dunfermline Athletic Derry City Shamrock Rovers
Stoke City Dundee
Tottenham Hotspur Heart of Midlothian
West Bromwich Albion Morton
Wolverhampton Wanderers Motherwell
Wolverhampton Wanderers 3-2 Heart of Midlothian (over two legs)
Coventry City Airdrieonians Ballymena United Shamrock Rovers
Derby County Dundee United Coleraine Waterford
Huddesfield Town Falkirk
Manchester City Heart of Midlothian
Newcastle United Morton
Stoke City Motherwell
Derby County 2-1 Airdrieonians (over two legs)
Coventry City Ayr
Crystal Palace Dundee
Ipswich Town Dundee United
Leicester City Heart of Midlothian
Newcastle United Kilmarnock
Norwich City Motherwell
Sheffield United St. Johnston
West Bromwich Albion
Wolverhampton Wanderers
Ipswich Town 4-2 Norwich City (over two legs)
Birmingham City Ayr United
Burnley Dundee United
Coventry City East Fife
Everton Heart of Midlothian
Leicester City Morton
Newcastle United Motherwell
Norwich City St. Johnstone
Sheffield United
Stoke City
Newcastle United 2-1 Burnley
Birmingham City Aberdeen
Blackpool Ayr United
Carlisle United Heart of Midlothian
Luton Town Rangers
Manchester City
Newcastle United
Norwich City
Oldham Athletic
Peterborough United
Sheffield United
West Bromwich Albion
West Ham United
Newcastle United 3-1 Southampton (over two legs)


Top Flight Highest Goalscorers        |        Most Expensive Transfers in World Football