Mitropa Zentropa Cup

Mitropa / Zentropa Cup 1927-1992

My Football Facts ⇒ UEFAUEFA Club

The Mitropa Cup was one of the first really international major European football cups for club sides. After World War II a tournament named Zentropa Cup from 1951 was held to resume the rich tradition of this competition. Later editions, again under the Mitropa Cup label, lost much of its status because of the introduction of other UEFA European Club Competitions.

Mitropa Zentropa Cup 1927-1992THE MITROPA CUP
1927AC Sparta Praha  Czechoslovakia
1928Ferencváros HungaryThe Mitropa Cup, officially called the La Coupe de l'Europe Centrale was one of the first really
1929Újpest FC Hungaryinternational major European football cups for club sides. After World War II in 1951 a replacement
1930SK Rapid Wien Austriatournament named Zentropa Cup was held to resume the rich tradition of this competition.
1931First Vienna FC AustriaThe first “international” competition for football clubs was founded in 1897 in Vienna.
1932Bologna F.C. 1909 Italy
1933FK Austria Wien AustriaThe “Challenge Cup” was invented by John Gramlick senior, a co-founder of the Vienna Cricket and
1934Bologna F.C. 1909 ItalyFootball-Club. In this cup-competition all clubs of the Austro-Hungarian Empire that normally would not
1935AC Sparta Praha  Czechoslovakiameet could take part, though actually almost only clubs from the Empire's three major cities Vienna,
1936FK Austria Wien AustriaBudapest and Prague participated. The Challenge Cup was carried out until the year 1911 and is today
1937Ferencváros Hungaryseen as the predecessor to the Mitropa Cup and consequently the European Cup & Champions League.
1938SK Slavia Praha  CzechoslovakiaLast winner of the cup was Vienna Sports Club, one of the oldest and most traditional football clubs of
1939Újpest FC HungaryAustria where the cup still remains.
Tournament not played 1940-1950.
1951 (1)SK Rapid Wien AustriaThe idea of a European Cup competition was shaped after World War I which brought the defeat and
1955Vörös Lobogó Hungarycollapse of the Austro-Hungarian Empire. The centre of this idea were the Central European countries
1956Vasas Budapest Hungarythat, at this time, were still leading in continental Football. In the early 1920s they introduced – as first
1957Vasas Budapest Hungarycontinental nations – professional leagues. Austria started in 1924, followed by Hungary in 1925 and
1958 (2)Red Star Belgrade YugoslaviaCzechoslovakia in 1926. In order to strengthen the dominance of these countries in European football and
1959Budapest Honvéd FC Hungaryto financially support the professional clubs, the introduction of the Mitropacup was decided on a meeting
1960 (3)Hungary Hungaryin Venice in July 17th, following the initiative of the head of the Austrian Football Association (ÖFB) Hugo
1961Bologna F.C. 1909 ItalyMeisl. Moreover, the creation of a European Cup for national teams – that unlike the Challenge Cup and
1962Vasas Budapest Hungarythe Mitropa Cup would not be annual – was also part of the agreement. The first matches were played on
1963MTK Budapest HungaryAugust 14 of that year. The competition was between the top professional teams of Central Europe.
1964AC Sparta Praha  Czechoslovakia
1965Vasas Budapest HungaryInitially two teams each from Austria, Hungary, Czechoslovakia and the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and
1966AC Fiorentina ItalySlovenes entered, competing in a knock-out competition. The countries involved could either send their
1967Spartak Trnava  Czechoslovakiarespective league winners and runners-up, or league winners and cup winners to take part. The first
1968Red Star Belgrade Yugoslaviawinners were the Czech side, AC Sparta Prague. In 1929 Italian teams replaced the Yugoslavian ones.
1969Inter Bratislava  Czechoslovakia
1970Vasas Budapest HungaryThe competition was expanded to four teams from each of the competing countries in 1934. Other
1971NK Čelik Zenica Yugoslaviacountries were invited to participate – Switzerland in 1936, and Romania, Switzerland and Yugoslavia in
1972NK Čelik Zenica Yugoslavia1937. Austria was withdrawn from the competition following the Anschluss in 1938. Prior to WW II the
1973Tatabányai Bányász Hungarycup was competed for in 1939 with only eight teams (two each from Hungary, Czechoslovakia and Italy
1974Tatabányai Bányász Hungaryand one each from Romania and Yugoslavia). The level of the competing nations is clearly shown by
1975Admira Wacker AustriaItaly's two World Cup titles (1934 & 1938), Czechoslovakia's (1934) and Hungary's (1938) World Cup
1976Admira Wacker Austriafinal, and Austria's (1934) and Yugoslavia's (1930) semi-finals. Out of the eleven different teams
1977Vojvodina Novi Sad Yugoslaviacompeting in the first three World Cups, five were part of the Mitropa Cup.
1978FK Partizan Yugoslavia
Tournament not played 1979.An edition in 1940 was started but abandoned due to World War II. Again, only eight teams competed –
1980Udinese Calcio Italythree each from Hungary and Yugoslavia and two from Romania. This edition was abandoned before the
1981Tatran Prešov  Czechoslovakiafinal match. Hungarian Ferencváros and Romanian Rapid (which had won on lots after three draws)
1982AC Milan Italyqualified for the final, but did not meet because Hungary had invaded North-West Romania.
1983Vasas Budapest Hungary
1984SC Eisenstadt AustriaAfter WW II, the cup was resumed in 1951 initially as Zentropa Cup. Later editions, again under the
1985Iskra Bugojno YugoslaviaMitropa Cup label, lost much of its status because of the introduction of other UEFA European club
1986SC Pisa Italycompetitions and faced an ongoing decline. By the 1980s it was competed for between the second
1987Ascoli Calcio Italydivision champions of the participating countries. It was last played for in 1992 and won by the Yugoslav
1988SC Pisa Italyside, Borac Banja Luka in front of under a thousand spectators.
1989FC Baník Ostrava  Czechoslovakia
1990A.S. Bari Italy
1991Torino Calcio Italy
1992Borac Banja Luka Yugoslavia

(1) Tournament played as “Zentropa Cup”

(2) Tournament held as Donaupokal (Danube Cup)

(3) Results of 6 clubs from 5 countries were added on a national basis


Back To Top