Article: Which Australian Soccer Teams Have The Most Titles?

My Football Facts ⇒ Articles

By Jonathan Lewis | 7th FEB 2022

Soccer in Australia dates back almost a century ago. Decades after the founding of the Australian Soccer Federation (ASF) in 1962, the game has evolved to become one of the most popular sports in The Land Down Under.

Attracting millions of spectators, it’d seem everyone loves soccer. The game is so prevalent that there’s soccer betting for people who want to stake on different Aussie teams.

But betting requires good historical knowledge of teams for positive returns. Therefore, you’ll need to look at the various soccer teams, the titles they’ve won, and their odds of winning to place a good bet.

To save you time and stress, below are the top Australian soccer teams, from Men’s and Women’s categories, with the most title wins under their belts.


Top Teams Under The Men’s Category

A closer look at these top 5 Aussie teams will give insights into how they’ve made their marks in the league over time. Here they go:

  • Sydney FC

Sydney FC is the first football club from Sydney to be admitted into the A-league back in 2005. Having won unique domestic and international trophies, it’s regarded as the best and most successful team in the all-time history of Australian soccer. A record of their titles includes:

  • 1 Football Federal Australia (FFA) Cup;
  • 5 A-League Championship;
  • 4 A-League Premiership; and
  • 1 Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) Championship League title.

Moreover, the club is one of the most supported in the league, making it one of the go-to teams for bettors seeking to make a fortune out of their bets.

  • Melbourne Victory

Founded in 2004, Melbourne Victory Football Club was the only Victorian team in the inaugural seasons of the A-League. It has a record of the following titles:

  • 1 FFA Cup;
  • 4 A-League Championship;
  • 3 A-League Premiership; and
  • 1 A-League Pre-Season Challenge Cup.

The club currently stands as the second most successful and most supported club. It’s also the only club to win all four major domestic trophies in modern soccer.

  • Western Sydney Wanderers

Known colloquially as Western Sydney, Western Sydney Wanderers joined the A-League as the tenth member of the then nine-team league. The club holds the record of being the first-ever team to win the AFC Champions League in 2014.

Also, in 2014, it finished sixth place in the FIFA Club World Cup. Clearly, Sydney Wanderers is listed amongst one of the most supported soccer clubs in the country.

  • Adelaide United

Adelaide United was admitted into the A-League in 2005, making it the first southern member welcomed into the A-League. It has won the following:

  • 1 Championship;
  • 2 A-League Premiership; and
  • 3 FFA Cups.

Considering the honors, the club is one of the highest performers in the league with incredibly sharp forwards, such as Mathew Leckie and Bruce Djite.

  • Perth Glory

Perth Glory was formed in 1995 and played its first competitive game in October 1996. The club’s home ground is named Perth Oval. The team has been participating in the Australian soccer scene since the 2004 inaugural season of the A-League.

The club commenced its winning stride with a domestic league title in the former National Soccer League. Its first major trophy, the A-League Premiership, was won during the National Soccer League era in the 1999-2000 season.

Top Teams Under The Women’s Category

Established in 2008 by Football Australia, the W-League is the top-division women’s soccer league in Australia. The league was initially composed of eight teams and is now competed by 10 teams. League players, like their male counterparts, are said to take over top roles in the sport someday. The most-titled clubs in the league include:

  • Brisbane Roar FC

Brisbane Roar poses as the most successful club in the history of the W-league. The team won the regular season in 2008-2009 and 2010-2011 and finished as runners-up in 2009, 2011-2012, and 2013-2014.

  • Sydney FC

Sydney FC was founded in 2008 and is famous for its sky-blue jersey, which is the state color of New South Wales. The team plays its home games at the Allianz stadium, Jubilee Oval, and WIN stadium. The club won the league twice in 2009 and 2010 and is known not to have ever finished below the 4th place in the league.

  • Canberra United

Canberra United is a semi-professional women’s soccer club. It shares the same green club color with the National Rugby League Club Canberra Raiders. The club successfully won the W-league in the 2010-2011 season. The team also displaced Perth Glory with a 3-1 victory in 2014 to win the grand finale.

  • Melbourne Victory

The club represents Melbourne in the women’s league. Since its inception, the team has been relatively successful in winning the regular-season championship in 2013-2014 and finishing as runners-up in 2012-2013.

  • Perth Glory FC

In 2013-2014, the Perth Glory team set the record for the most goals scored by a single player and reached 30 points – the most points by a club in the W-league, making them winners of the regular season.


Australian soccer has kept growing over the years. Today, the league has viewers across the globe. With the records of the most successful title winners in both the men’s and women’s leagues shared above, soccer betting fans can rely on them in their betting decisions and improve their odds of winning.

Jonathan Lewis is an MFF sports writer


Back To Top