Name  Date Award Notes  
  Trevor Brooking  Jun-2004 Knighthood  For services to sport; also received CBE in 1999 and MBE in 1981   
  Matt Busby  Jun-1969 Knighthood  After guiding Manchester United to the European Cup title.  
  Bobby Charlton  Jun-1994 Knighthood  For services to football; regarded as second footballer to be knighted;   
  also received CBE in 1974 and OBE in 1969.  
  John Charles Clegg  1927 Knighthood  Thought by some to be the first man knighted for services to football,   
  although the citation did not mention football.  
  Alex Ferguson  Jun-1999 Knighthood  Only the eighth football manager or player to receive a knighthood;   
  was also awarded an OBE in 1984 and a CBE in 1995.  
  Tom Finney  Jan-1998 Knighthood  For services to football; regarded as third footballer to be knighted;   
  also received CBE in 1992 and OBE in 1961.  
  Geoff Hurst  Jun-1998 Knighthood  For services to football; regarded as fourth footballer to be knighted;   
  also received MBE in 1979.  
  Stanley Matthews  Jan-1965 Knighthood  For services to football; regarded as first footballer to be knighted;   
  also received CBE in 1957 (the only footballer knighted whilst still playing).  
  Bert Millichip  1991 Knighthood     
  Alf Ramsey  Jan-1967 Knighthood  For services to football (following England's 1966 World Cup triumph).  
  David Gerald Richards  Jun-2006 Knighthood  Chairman of the FA Premier League and Football Foundation. For services to Sport.  
  Bobby Robson  Jun-2002 Knighthood  For services to football; also received CBE in 1990.  
  Stanley Rous  1949 Knighthood  He was knighted in 1949 for his contribution to the London Olympics the previous   
  year and to sport in general.  
  Walter Winterbottom  1978 Knighthood  For services to sport; also received CBE in 1972 and OBE in 1963 (first England manager).  
  Édson Arantes do Nascimento (Pelé)  1997 KBE (honorary)  As a Brazilian citizen, he was not eligible to receive an actual knighthood.  
  Craig Brown  Jun-1999 CBE     
  Ron Greenwood  Jan-1981 CBE     
  Jock Stein  Jan-1970 CBE     
  Billy Wright  Jun-1959 CBE     
  David Beckham  Jun-2003 OBE     
  Brian Clough  Jun-1991 OBE     
  Garth Crooks  Jun-1999 OBE  For services to the Institute of Professional Sport.  
  George Eastham  1975 OBE     
  Ryan Giggs  Jun-2007 OBE     
  Jimmy Hill    OBE     
  Gérard Houllier  2003 OBE     
  Emlyn Hughes  1980 OBE     
  Mark Hughes  Jun-2004 OBE     
  Gary Lineker  Jan-1992 OBE     
  Cliff Lloyd    OBE     
  Nat Lofthouse  1994 OBE     
  Des Lynam  2008 OBE     
  Joe Mercer  1976 OBE     
  John Motson    OBE     
  Bill Nicholson    OBE     
  Martin O'Neill  2004 OBE     
  Bob Paisley    OBE     
  Gary Pallister    OBE     
  Bryan Robson  Jan-1990 OBE     
  Bill Shankly  1974 OBE     
  Alan Shearer  Jun-2001 OBE     
  Peter Shilton  1991 OBE  Also received MBE in 1986.  
  Gordon Strachan    OBE     
  Gordon Taylor    OBE     
  Jack Taylor    OBE     
  Geoff Thompson  Jun-207 OBE     
  Arsène Wenger  2003 OBE  Honorary (French citizen)  
  Bob Wilson    OBE     
  Dean Windass  2000 OBE     
  Gianfranco Zola  2004 OBE  Honorary (Italian citizen)  
  Walter Smith    OBE     
  Tony Adams  Jun-1999 MBE     
  John Barnes    MBE     
  Ted Bates    MBE     
  Peter Beardsley    MBE     
  Colin Bell  Jan-2005 MBE  For services to the community.  
  Billy Bingham    MBE     
  Billy Bonds    MBE     
  Norman Creek  1943 MBE  Also awarded the Military Cross  
  Barry Davies    MBE     
  Kenny Dalglish    MBE     
  Robbie Earle    MBE     
  Barry Ferguson    MBE     
  Tony Ford    MBE     
  Steven Gerrard  2006 MBE     
  Shaun Goater    MBE     
  Dario Gradi    MBE     
  George Harkus  1949 MBE  For "keeping up morale in the forces whilst stationed in the Middle East"  
  David Healy  2008 MBE  For "services to football and the community"  
  Gordon Jago  2006 MBE     
  David James 2012 MBE     
  Henrik Larsson  2006 MBE  For "services to football"  
  Jim Leighton    MBE     
  Gary Mabbutt  Jan-1994 MBE     
  Ally McCoist  1994 MBE     
  Lawrie McMenemy    MBE     
  Willie Miller    MBE     
  Terry Paine  1977 MBE     
  Stuart Pearce  1999 MBE     
  Ivor Powell  2008 MBE     
  Niall Quinn  2003 MBE  Honorary (Irish) ; "outstanding services to international football & contributions to charities"  
  Peter Schmeichel  2001 MBE  Honorary (Danish citizen)  
  Teddy Sheringham  2007 MBE     
  Neville Southall  1995 MBE