African Cup of Nations Finals 1957-2010
Chart showing details of every African Cup of Nations Finals from 1957 in Sudan to the forthcoming tournament in Angola in 2010.
African Cup of Nations Finals Order of Merit 1957-2010
Chart detailing the order of merit for all the combined African Cup of Nations events
African Cup Champions 1957-2010

Chart showing the African Cup of Nations winners from 1957 to 2008

The origins of the African Nations Cup date back to June 1956, when the creation of the Confederation of African Football was proposed during the third FIFA congress in Lisbon. There were immediate plans for a continental nations tournament to be held, and in February 1957, the first African Cup of Nations took place in Khartoum, Sudan.

In 1957 there were only three participating nations: Egypt, Sudan and Ethiopia. South Africa was to compete, but was disqualified due to the apartheid policies of the government then in power. Since then, the tournament has grown, making it necessary to hold a qualifying tournament. The number of participants in the final tournament reached 16 in 1998 (16 teams were to compete in 1996 but Nigeria withdrew) and since then, the format has been unchanged, with the sixteen teams being drawn into four groups of four teams each, with the top two teams of each group advancing to a "knock-out" stage.

Egypt is the most successful nation in the cup's history, winning the tournament a record six times. Ghana and Cameroon have won four titles each. Three different trophies have been awarded during the tournament's history, with Ghana and Cameroon winning the first two after each of them won a tournament three times. The current trophy was first awarded in 2002.


The African Champions League has been contested since 1964 with clubs from Egypt being the most succesful with 11 wins.

The competition used to be known as  the African Cup of Champions Clubs from 1964 until 1996. The 2008 edition was won by Al-Ahly of Egypt, who beat Cotonsport Garoua of Cameroon.
African Cup Overall Statistics 1957-2010
Full details of all the games played in African Cup Finals from 1957 to 2008
African Cup Top Goalscorers 1957-2008

African Cup of Nations top goalscorers arranged
by the individual tournaments from 1957 to 2008

African Cup of Nations 1957 to 2010

African Champions League 1964 to 2008

African Champions League
Finals 1964-2008
Table of the African Champions League final four places from 1964 to 2008
African Champions League
Table of Merit 1964-2008
Table of Merit for the African Champions League winners from 1964 to 2008 together with national total championships won.
Search MyFootballFacts
Custom Search
CAF African National Leagues
League Champions
1948-49 to 2008-09
League Champions
1955-56 to 2008-09
League Champions
1956 to 2008-09
League Champions
1960-61 to 2008-09
League Champions
1971-72 to 2008-09
League Champions
1956-57 to 2008-09
Congo Democratic Republic (Zaire)
Ivory Coast
League Champions
1960-61 to 2008-09
League Champions
1962-63 to 2008-09
Follow MyFootballFacts